Skip to main content

Alexgeorgea nitens (Nees) L.A.S.Johnson & B.G.Briggs

Telopea 2:781-782 (1986)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Dioecious rhizomatous, perennial, herb (sedge-like), 0.05-0.3 m high. Fl. brown, Apr to Jun. White, grey or yellow sand. Woodland & dry kwongan.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 12 July 1994

Scientific Description

Rhizomes spreading, glabrous. Basal sheath glabrous, glossy, striate. Culms terete, internal structure (at base of culm) solid, hairy, striate, not marbled, not fasciculate. Culm 110-170 mm long. Sheaths (including blade) appressed throughout, glossy, striate, glabrous, margins not translucent. Apex obtuse, glabrous. Dioecious (with separate male and female plants). Male and female inflorescences similar, posture (male inflorescences only) More or less erect, Culms branched below the inflorescence. Male spikelet 6-8 mm long. Subtending bract glabrous, Outer bract 2-3.2 mm long, margins firm and opaque, Apex acuminate to attenuate. Perianth glabrous. 2-2.5 mm long. Inner bract glabrous, margins firm and opaque, Apex acuminate to attenuate. Inner bract 3.5-6 mm long. Filament 2.5-3 mm long. Anther 0.7-1.2 mm long. Inner bracts NaN (?) mm long, glabrous, margins firm and opaque, Apex acuminate to attenuate. Style one, arising centrally from the ovary apex. NaN (?) mm long. Fruit indehiscent (nut). Flowering Time April, May or June. Botanical Province South-West, IBRA Bioregions Geraldton Sandplain, Swan Coastal Plain, Avon Wheatbelt or Jarrah Forest.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 1 September 2017


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Swan Coastal Plain.
IBRA Subregions
Dandaragan Plateau, Katanning, Lesueur Sandplain, Merredin, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Bayswater, Belmont, Cambridge, Canning, Carnamah, Chittering, Coorow, Dandaragan, Gingin, Goomalling, Irwin, Joondalup, Kalamunda, Mundaring, Nedlands, Perth, Pingelly, South Perth, Stirling, Swan, Three Springs, Victoria Plains, Wanneroo.