Skip to main content

Gompholobium confertum (DC.) Crisp

C.H.Stirt., Adv.Legume Syst. 3: 129 (1987)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Erect shrub, 0.15-1(-1.2) m high. Fl. blue-purple, Aug to Dec or Jan to Mar. Sandy soils, sometimes over laterite. Undulating plains, winter-wet areas.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 18 June 1996

Scientific Description

Erect, shrub, spindly shrub (broom-like). Stems terete, not spiny, glabrous; pustules or glands absent. Leaves or phylloclades clearly present, simple, alternate, not continuous with stem, 5-15 mm long, 0.4-1 mm wide, glabrous, strongly recurved, appearing terete but with one or two grooves below; tubercles absent; pustules or glands absent. Stipules present and persistent to older leaves. Pedicel present, 3.5-6 mm long, glabrous. Bracteoles present and persistent. Calyx 7.8-9 mm long, not accrescent, glabrous, ribless; pustules or glands absent. Corolla 8-11 mm long, multicoloured, mostly purple or blue, with some purple or blue spots, streaks or blotches; claws present; standard 7.5-10.4 mm long, glabrous, not auriculate, wings 7.5-10 mm long, not auriculate, keel 7.5-9.5 mm long, not beaked, not auriculate, glabrous. Stamens ten; anthers 1-1.2 mm long, at two different levels (filaments alternately long and short); filaments free (or united at the very base), 4.6-7.5 mm long. Ovary sessile or subsessile, glabrous; style 7.6-9 mm long, glabrous, not bearded, terete. Fruit dehiscent (a pod or follicle), sessile or subsessile, not constricted between the seeds, round in cross-section, glabrous, not beaked. Flowers in January, February, March, August, September, October, November and December. Occurs in the South-West Botanical Province, in the Geraldton Sandplains, Avon Wheatbelt, Mallee and Esperance IBRA regions.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 24 October 2023


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Esperance Plains, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Mallee, Swan Coastal Plain, Warren.
IBRA Subregions
Dandaragan Plateau, Eastern Mallee, Fitzgerald, Katanning, Lesueur Sandplain, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Recherche, Southern Jarrah Forest, Warren, Western Mallee.
IMCRA Regions
WA South Coast.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Albany, Armadale, Augusta Margaret River, Bayswater, Beverley, Boddington, Boyup Brook, Busselton, Canning, Capel, Carnamah, Chittering, Cockburn, Coorow, Cranbrook, Dandaragan, Dardanup, Denmark, Donnybrook-Balingup, Esperance, Gingin, Gnowangerup, Gosnells, Harvey, Jerramungup, Kalamunda, Kent, Lake Grace, Manjimup, Melville, Murray, Nannup, Narrogin, Perth, Plantagenet, Ravensthorpe, Rockingham, Serpentine-Jarrahdale, Swan, Victoria Plains, Wanneroo, Waroona, West Arthur, Williams, York.