Skip to main content

Lasiopetalum monticola Paust

Nuytsia 1:362,Figs 9,12 (1974)
Conservation Code
Priority Three
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Erect slender or straggling shrub, 0.45-1.5 m high. Fl. white-cream-pink, Aug to Oct. Rocky soils. Steep slopes, gullies.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 1 October 1996

Scientific Description

Shrub, with hairy stems. Leaves 25-65 mm long, 5-20 mm wide, not lobed; margins entire; hairy, with stellate hairswith scales absent, Sessile glands absent; stipules apparently absent, even from youngest leaves. Perianth of two whorls but the corolla reduced to small scales or tiny lobes at the base of the ovary. Pedicel present, 4-5 mm long; indumentum present, with stellate hairs present, with scales absent. Epicalyx (extra segments or 'bracteoles' immediately below the calyx) present, 9.4-11 mm long, the lobes free, indumentum present, stellate hairs presentwith scales absent, Sessile glands absent. Calyx pink, cream or white, 5.5-9.2 mm long, the lobes fused less than half their length, Sessile glands absent, simple hairs (without tubercle bases) absent, stellate hairs present, tubercle-based simple hairs absent, gland-tipped hairs absent, scales absent, Terminal appendages absent, number of ribs absent. Corolla 0.8-1 mm long, glabrous. Indumentum (outside) Sessile glands absent. Stamens five, free and inserted at the base of the ovary; filaments present, 2.3-2.5 mm long; anthers 2.8-3.2 mm long, indumentum absent (anthers glabrous). Staminodes absent, appendages absent. Ovary hairs or scales present, simple hairs absent, stellate hairs present, gland-tipped hairs absent; style 1, with a lobed or capitate stigma, 3.4-4 mm long, with one style branches or lobes, mostly glabrous, wing absent. Flowering time August, September or October. Distribution Botanical Province South-West, IBRA Bioregion Mallee and Esperance. Conservation Code Priority Three (P3).

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 11 August 2023


IBRA Regions
Esperance Plains.
IBRA Subregions
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Cranbrook, Gnowangerup, Plantagenet, Ravensthorpe.