Skip to main content

Haemodorum discolor T.Macfarlane

Fl.Austral. 45:464 (1987)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Bulbaceous, perennial, herb, 0.3-1 m high. Fl. brown-black, Sep to Nov. Sandy clay, grey or yellow sand, clay.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 22 June 1994

Scientific Description

Leaves flat, 60-395 mm long, 1.5-4 mm wide; bristles or hairs on the leaf margin absent; hairs on the surface of the leaf absent (leaf surfaces glabrous). Scape present, glabrous, 740-1475 mm long. Inflorescence subtended by a bract 9-20 mm long, with several flowers; floral bracts 6-9 mm long; pedicels present, 1-4.5 mm long; flowers 10-13 mm long. Perianth glabrous, radially symmetrical, uniformly coloured, black or brown, clearly with three inner and three outer tepals, the inner segments 6-10 mm long. Stamens three, in one level; filaments 0.5-0.8 mm long; anther 4.5-5 mm long, without an appendage. Style 9-11 mm long. Flowers in September, October or November. Occurs in the Coolgardie, Geraldton Sandplains, Swan Coastal Plain, Avon Wheatbelt, Jarrah Forest, Mallee and Esperance IBRA bioregion(s), of the Eremaeam and South-west Botanical Province.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 18 January 2020


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Coolgardie, Esperance Plains, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Mallee, Swan Coastal Plain.
IBRA Subregions
Dandaragan Plateau, Fitzgerald, Geraldton Hills, Katanning, Lesueur Sandplain, Merredin, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Recherche, Southern Cross, Southern Jarrah Forest, Western Mallee.
IMCRA Regions
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Albany, Augusta Margaret River, Beverley, Boyup Brook, Brookton, Broomehill-Tambellup, Busselton, Carnamah, Chapman Valley, Chittering, Coolgardie, Coorow, Corrigin, Cranbrook, Dandaragan, Donnybrook-Balingup, Esperance, Gingin, Gnowangerup, Goomalling, Greater Geraldton, Harvey, Irwin, Jerramungup, Kalamunda, Kellerberrin, Kent, Kojonup, Kondinin, Kulin, Lake Grace, Manjimup, Mingenew, Moora, Mundaring, Murray, Nannup, Narrogin, Northam, Northampton, Pingelly, Plantagenet, Quairading, Ravensthorpe, Serpentine-Jarrahdale, Swan, Tammin, Toodyay, Victoria Plains, Wagin, West Arthur, Wickepin, Williams, Wongan-Ballidu, Woodanilling, Yilgarn, York.