Skip to main content

Sida sp. Pindar (A. Mitchell 3585)

Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Erect compact or spreading shrub, 0.15-0.3 m high. Fl. yellow-white, May or Sep. Red or yellow sand. Flats, sandplains.

Amanda Spooner, Descriptive Catalogue, 22 September 1997

Scientific Description

Herb or shrub, with hairy stems. Leaves 12-40 mm long, 9-25 mm wide, not lobed; margins serrate; hairy, with absent, with stellate hairs, with tubercle-based simple hairs absent, with gland-tipped hairs absentwith scales absent, Sessile glands absent; stipules present and persistent to older leaves, 6-14 mm long. Perianth clearly of two whorls (calyx and corolla), the corolla obvious and prominent. Pedicel present, 5 mm long; indumentum present, with absent, with stellate hairs present, with gland tipped hairs absent, with scales absent. Epicalyx (extra segments or 'bracteoles' immediately below the calyx) absent. Calyx green, 5.5 mm long, the lobes fused less than half their length, Sessile glands absent, simple hairs (without tubercle bases) absent, stellate hairs present, tubercle-based simple hairs absent, gland-tipped hairs absent, scales absent, Terminal appendages absent, number of ribs absent. Corolla yellow or white, 5.5 mm long, glabrous. Indumentum (outside) Sessile glands absent. Stamens many, united and arising from a staminal tube around the style; filaments present, 1.1 mm long; anthers 0.6 mm long, indumentum absent (anthers glabrous). Staminodes absent, appendages absent. Ovary; style 1, 3 mm long, with four or numerous style branches or lobes, mostly glabrous, wing absent. Fruits indehiscent and splitting into sections (schizocarps), mericarps wrinkled. Flowering time May or September. Distribution Botanical Province Eremaean or South-West, IBRA Bioregion Carnarvon, Yalgoo, Murchison and Avon Wheatbelt.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 11 August 2023


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Carnarvon, Murchison, Yalgoo.
IBRA Subregions
Merredin, Tallering, Western Murchison, Wooramel.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Carnarvon, Greater Geraldton, Morawa, Upper Gascoyne, Yalgoo.