Skip to main content

Desmocladus parthenicus B.G.Briggs & L.A.S.Johnson

Telopea 9:241-242,Figs 6h,i (2001)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Rhizomatous, perennial, herb (sedge-like), 0.1-0.5 m high, leaves in fasciculated bundles. Grey or yellow sand, sandy loam, sandy soils with lateritic gravel. Sand dunes, flats, low sandy rises.

Amanda Spooner, Descriptive Catalogue, 21 October 1997

Scientific Description

Rhizomes tufted, hairy. Basal sheath hairy, glossy, striate. Culms terete, internal structure (at base of culm) solid, hairy, not striate, not marbled, fasciculate. Culm 245-400 mm long. Sheaths (including blade) spreading, dull, striate, hairy, margins not translucent. Apex elongated, glabrous. Dioecious (with separate male and female plants). Male spikelet NaN (?) mm long. Subtending bract Apex acute (?), acuminate to attenuate (?) or obtuse (?). Female spikelet 2-3 mm long. Subtending bract glabrous, margins thin and translucent, Apex acute. Outer bract 1.7-2.5 mm long. Perianth glabrous. 2.5-3 mm long. Inner bracts 2-2.8 mm long, glabrous, margins thin and translucent, Apex acute. Style one, arising centrally from the ovary apex. 4-5 mm long. Fruit indehiscent (nut). Flowering Time August, September or October. Botanical Province Eremaeam or South-West, IBRA Bioregions Geraldton Sandplain, Avon Wheatbelt, Jarrah Forest, Mallee or Esperance.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 1 September 2017


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Esperance Plains, Geraldton Sandplains, Hampton, Jarrah Forest, Mallee, Swan Coastal Plain.
IBRA Subregions
Dandaragan Plateau, Eastern Mallee, Geraldton Hills, Hampton, Katanning, Lesueur Sandplain, Merredin, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Recherche, Western Mallee.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Beverley, Broomehill-Tambellup, Carnamah, Chapman Valley, Coorow, Corrigin, Cuballing, Dandaragan, Dumbleyung, Dundas, Esperance, Gingin, Greater Geraldton, Irwin, Kent, Kulin, Lake Grace, Mingenew, Northampton, Pingelly, Quairading, Ravensthorpe, Tammin, Victoria Plains, Wagin, Wickepin, Wongan-Ballidu.