Skip to main content

Banksia prionotes Lindl.
Acorn Banksia

Sketch Veg.Swan R. 34 (1840)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Non-lignotuberous tree or shrub, to 10 m high. Fl. cream & orange, Feb to Aug. White or grey/yellow sand, sandy loam, brown clay, laterite, granite. Sandplains, sand dunes, undulating slopes.

Amanda Spooner, Descriptive Catalogue, 26 May 2003

Scientific Description

Trees, 3-8 m high; branchlets hairy. Leaves petiolate, alternate, 150-280 mm long, 12-23 mm wide, hairy; petiole 10-20 mm long; lamina flat, more or less the same width throughout, once divided, pinnately divided, shallowly divided, teeth pointing outwards, with 30-41 lobes on each side, the margins flat. Inflorescences hirsute (with long, rough and coarse hairs), orange; innermost bracts 6-8 mm long, hairy. Perianth 34-36 mm long, hairy, all over, limb apex tomentose (with matted or tangled, soft, woolly hairs) or hirsute (with long, rough and coarse hairs), without awns; pistil 31-45 mm long, curved, style glabrous. Follicles hairy, tomentose (with matted or tangled, soft, woolly hairs), elliptic or oblong, 14-20 mm long. Flowers in February, March, April, May, June, July or August. Occurs in the Eremaean (ER) or South-west (SW) Botanical Province(s), in the Carnarvon (CAR), Yalgoo (YAL), Geraldton Sandplains (GS), Swan Coastal Plain (SWA), Avon Wheatbelt (AW), Jarrah Forest (JF) or Mallee (MAL) IBRA subregion(s).

C. Hollister, N.S. Lander and K.R. Thiele, 26 May 2023


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Mallee, Swan Coastal Plain, Yalgoo.
IBRA Subregions
Dandaragan Plateau, Edel, Geraldton Hills, Katanning, Lesueur Sandplain, Merredin, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Southern Jarrah Forest, Western Mallee.
IMCRA Regions
Central West Coast.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Beverley, Bruce Rock, Carnamah, Chapman Valley, Coorow, Corrigin, Cuballing, Cunderdin, Dalwallinu, Dandaragan, Dowerin, Gingin, Goomalling, Greater Geraldton, Irwin, Katanning, Kent, Kojonup, Moora, Morawa, Mundaring, Nedlands, Northampton, Pingelly, Quairading, Shark Bay, South Perth, Stirling, Subiaco, Three Springs, Victoria Plains, Wagin, Wanneroo, West Arthur, Wickepin, Wongan-Ballidu, York.