Skip to main content

Leptocarpus laxus (R.Br.) B.G.Briggs

Taxon 50:891 (2001)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Large, many-stemmed, caespitose herb (rush-like), 0.3-1.5 m high. Fl. red, Apr or Nov. Moist to wet sand, saline soils, clay, laterite. Swamps, creeks, well-drained flats, seasonally-wet sites, by road ditches.

Amanda Spooner, Descriptive Catalogue, 19 March 2002

Scientific Description

Rhizomes tufted, glabrous. Basal sheath glabrous, glossy, striate. Culms terete (?), semi-terete (?), flattened (?), semi-flattened (?) or square (?), internal structure (at base of culm) solid (?), hollow (?) or hollow at base only (?), glabrous, not striate, not marbled, not fasciculate. Culm 750-1010 mm long. Sheaths (including blade) appressed throughout, dull, striate, glabrous, margins translucent. Apex elongated, glabrous. Dioecious (with separate male and female plants). Male and female inflorescences distinctly dissimilar, posture (male inflorescences only) More or less erect, Culms unbranched below the inflorescence. Male spikelet 4.5 mm long. Subtending bract glabrous, Outer bract 2.5-3 mm long, margins thin and translucent, Apex acute. Perianth glabrous. 1.2-1.7 mm long. Inner bract glabrous, margins thin and translucent, Apex acute. Inner bract 3.3-3.7 mm long. Filament 0-0.1 mm long. Anther 0.7-1.1 mm long. Female spikelet 7-12 mm long. Subtending bract glabrous, margins thin and translucent, Apex acute. Outer bract 3.5-5.3 mm long. Perianth glabrous. 1.5-2.4 mm long. Inner bracts 3.5-4 mm long, glabrous, margins thin and translucent, Apex acute. Style one, arising centrally from the ovary apex. 3.2-5 mm long. Fruit indehiscent (nut). Flowering Time April or November. Botanical Province South-West, IBRA Bioregions Swan Coastal Plain, Jarrah Forest, Warren or Esperance.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 1 September 2017


IBRA Regions
Esperance Plains, Jarrah Forest, Swan Coastal Plain, Warren.
IBRA Subregions
Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Recherche, Southern Jarrah Forest, Warren.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Albany, Armadale, Augusta Margaret River, Bayswater, Boddington, Capel, Collie, Denmark, Harvey, Kojonup, Kwinana, Manjimup, Murray, Nannup, Plantagenet, Ravensthorpe, Waroona.