Skip to main content

Isopogon dubius (R.Br.) Druce
Pincushion Coneflower

Rep.Bot.Exch.Club Brit.Isles 4:629 (1917)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Compact, bushy shrub, 0.3-1.5 m high. Fl. pink/pink-red, Jul to Oct. Sand, sandy loam, clayey soils, lateritic sandy gravel.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 21 August 1995

Scientific Description

Shrubs, 0.5-1.5 m high; branchlets hairy, with curled hairs. Leaves alternate, 25-55 mm long, hairy; lamina flat, twice or more divided, pinnately divided or tripartitely divided, entire or divided to the midrib, with 6-9(-15) points or lobes; distance from base of leaf to lowest lobe 15-30 mm. Inflorescences not viscid, pink. Perianth 20-31 mm long, hairy, the limb apex hairy at the apex only; pistil 20-31 mm long; pollen presenter not fusiform, glabrous, 4-5.2 mm long, the brush 1.5-2 mm long. Cone with deciduous scales, 25-30 mm long. Flowers in July, August, September or October. Occurs in the South-west (SW) Botanical Province(s), in the Geraldton Sandplains (GS), Swan Coastal Plain (SWA), Avon Wheatbelt (AW) or Jarrah Forest (JF) IBRA subregion(s).

C. Hollister, N.S. Lander and K.R. Thiele, 26 May 2023


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Swan Coastal Plain.
IBRA Subregions
Dandaragan Plateau, Katanning, Lesueur Sandplain, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Southern Jarrah Forest.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Armadale, Beverley, Boddington, Carnamah, Chittering, Coorow, Cuballing, Dandaragan, Gingin, Goomalling, Gosnells, Kalamunda, Moora, Mundaring, Narrogin, Perth, Pingelly, Swan, Three Springs, Toodyay, Victoria Plains, Wagin, Wandering, West Arthur, Williams, Wongan-Ballidu, York.