Skip to main content

Petrophile rigida R.Br.

Trans.Linn.Soc.London 10:69 (1810)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Divaricate shrub, 0.3-1.5 m high. Fl. yellow-cream, Jun or Sep to Oct. White, grey or yellow sand.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 23 August 1995

Scientific Description

Shrubs, 0.5-1.5 m high; branchlets glabrous. Leaves alternate, 25-60 mm long, glabrous; lamina terete, twice or more divided, pinnately divided, divided to the midrib, with (8-)16-18(-26) points or lobes; distance from base of leaf to lowest lobe 15-25 mm. Inflorescences not viscid, white, cream or yellow. Perianth 11-14 mm long, hairy, the limb apex hairy all over; pistil 12-15 mm long; pollen presenter fusiform, hairy, 3.5-4.5 mm long. Cone with persistent scales, 20-30 mm long. Flowers in June, September or October. Occurs in the South-west (SW) Botanical Province(s), in the Geraldton Sandplains (GS), Swan Coastal Plain (SWA), Avon Wheatbelt (AW), Jarrah Forest (JF), Mallee (MAL), Warren (WAR) or Esperance Plains (ESP) IBRA subregion(s).

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 19 January 2024


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Esperance Plains, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Mallee, Swan Coastal Plain, Warren.
IBRA Subregions
Dandaragan Plateau, Fitzgerald, Katanning, Lesueur Sandplain, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Southern Jarrah Forest, Warren, Western Mallee.
IMCRA Regions
WA South Coast.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Albany, Beverley, Brookton, Broomehill-Tambellup, Coorow, Cranbrook, Dandaragan, Denmark, Gingin, Jerramungup, Kalamunda, Kent, Kojonup, Kulin, Manjimup, Narrogin, Pingelly, Plantagenet, Wagin, Wanneroo, West Arthur, York.