Skip to main content

Ptilotus gaudichaudii (Steud.) J.M.Black

Trans.Roy.Soc.South Australia 69:309 (1945)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Ascending or erect annual, herb, 0.1-0.4(-1) m high. Fl. yellow-green, Apr to Oct. Sand, loam, clay.

Amanda Spooner, Descriptive Catalogue, 31 August 1999

Scientific Description

Annuals, stems single or several, more or less erect, glabrescent or glabrous, with nodose hairs. Leaves present, (5-)10-50(-90) mm long, (0.5-)1-4(-5) mm wide, glabrescent or glabrous, with nodose hairs; basal rosette present; cauline leaves alternate. Spikes green or yellow, ovoid or cylindrical, solitary, with densely arranged flowers. Bracts 3-5 mm long, colourless, glabrous, awned or mucronate, with a prominent midrib. Bracteoles 3.5-6 mm long, colourless, glabrous, awned or mucronate, with a prominent midrib. Outer tepals 11-14 mm long, entire. Inner tepals 10.7-13.5(-13.8) mm long, with a basal tuft of hairs on inner face. Style 8-10(-10.5) mm long, straight, obliquely fixed to ovary. Seeds 0.8-1 mm long, glossy, brown or orange or pale brown. Distribution: South West and Eremaean Botanical Region; IBRA regions: Carnarvon, Central Ranges, Coolgardie, Gascoyne, Great Victoria Desert, Hampton, Little Sandy Desert, Murchison, Nullarbor, Pilbara.

R. Davis, 8 May 2019


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Carnarvon, Coolgardie, Gascoyne, Geraldton Sandplains, Gibson Desert, Great Victoria Desert, Hampton, Jarrah Forest, Little Sandy Desert, Mallee, Murchison, Nullarbor, Pilbara, Swan Coastal Plain, Yalgoo.
IBRA Subregions
Ashburton, Augustus, Cape Range, Carlisle, Carnegie, Central, Chichester, Eastern Goldfield, Eastern Murchison, Edel, Fortescue, Geraldton Hills, Hamersley, Hampton, Katanning, Lateritic Plain, Merredin, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Shield, Southern Cross, Southern Jarrah Forest, Tallering, Trainor, Western Mallee, Western Murchison, Wooramel.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Ashburton, Boddington, Carnarvon, Collie, Coolgardie, Cue, Dalwallinu, Dowerin, Dundas, East Pilbara, Exmouth, Goomalling, Greater Geraldton, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Kondinin, Koorda, Laverton, Leonora, Meekatharra, Menzies, Merredin, Mingenew, Moora, Morawa, Mount Magnet, Mount Marshall, Mukinbudin, Mundaring, Murchison, Ngaanyatjarraku, Northampton, Perenjori, Sandstone, Shark Bay, Tammin, Upper Gascoyne, West Arthur, Wiluna, Wyalkatchem, Yalgoo, Yilgarn, York.