Skip to main content

Daviesia benthamii Meisn.

Lehm., Pl.Preiss. [J.G.C.Lehmann] 1:48 (1844)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Shrub, 0.5-3 m high. Fl. orange/yellow & red/brown, Jul to Oct. Sand, clay & loam soils, gravel, laterite. Flats, rises, slopes, sandplains, breakaways.

Amanda Spooner, Descriptive Catalogue, 17 September 1999

Scientific Description

Erect, shrub, spindly shrub (broom-like). Stems terete, spiny at least in part, glabrous; pustules or glands absent. Leaves or phylloclades clearly present, alternate, not continuous with stem, 7-38 mm long, 1.5-2 mm wide, glabrous, terete; tubercles absent; pustules or glands absent. Stipules apparently absent even from the youngest leaves. Pedicel present, 0.5-1.5 mm long, glabrous. Bracteoles absent. Calyx 2-2.3 mm long, not accrescent, glabrous, ribless; pustules or glands absent. Corolla 5-6 mm long, multicoloured, mostly yellow, red, orange or brown, with some yellow, red, orange or brown spots, streaks or blotches; claws present; standard 4-5 mm long, glabrous, not auriculate, wings 3.6-4 mm long, not auriculate, keel 3.8-4 mm long, not beaked, not auriculate, glabrous. Stamens ten; anthers 0.4-0.5 mm long, at two different levels (filaments alternately long and short); filaments free (or united at the very base), 3.5-4.5 mm long. Ovary sessile or subsessile, glabrous; style 4 mm long, glabrous, not bearded, terete. Fruit dehiscent (a pod or follicle), 7-8.5 mm long, 6-7 mm wide, sessile or subsessile, not constricted between the seeds, flat or compressed, glabrous, beaked. Flowers in July, August and September. Occurs in the Eremaean and South-West Botanical Province, in the Carnarvon, Yalgoo, Coolgardie, Geraldton Sandplains, Avon Wheatbelt, Jarrah Forest, Mallee, Esperance and Swan Coastal Plain IBRA regions.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 24 October 2023


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Carnarvon, Coolgardie, Esperance Plains, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Mallee, Swan Coastal Plain, Yalgoo.
IBRA Subregions
Cape Range, Dandaragan Plateau, Eastern Goldfield, Edel, Fitzgerald, Geraldton Hills, Katanning, Lesueur Sandplain, Merredin, Northern Jarrah Forest, Southern Cross, Tallering, Western Mallee, Wooramel.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Beverley, Brookton, Carnamah, Carnarvon, Chapman Valley, Coorow, Corrigin, Cuballing, Dalwallinu, Dandaragan, Dowerin, Dundas, Goomalling, Greater Geraldton, Kellerberrin, Kent, Lake Grace, Merredin, Moora, Morawa, Mount Marshall, Narembeen, Northampton, Perenjori, Quairading, Ravensthorpe, Shark Bay, Tammin, Trayning, Victoria Plains, Wongan-Ballidu, Wyalkatchem, Yalgoo.