Skip to main content

Euchilopsis linearis (Benth.) F.Muell.
Swamp Pea

Syst.Census Austral.Pl. 37 (1882)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Prostrate to ascending, many-stemmed, slender shrub, 0.1-1.2 m high. Fl. yellow-orange-red, Jun to Dec. White, grey or peaty sand. Swampy places.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 10 June 1996

Scientific Description

Twining or climbing plants, shrub, spindly shrub (broom-like). Stems terete, not spiny, glabrous; pustules or glands absent. Leaves or phylloclades clearly present, simple, alternate, not continuous with stem, 8-20 mm long, 1-2 mm wide, glabrous, flat with flat margins; margins entire; tubercles absent; pustules or glands absent. Stipules apparently absent even from the youngest leaves. Pedicel present, 3-8 mm long, glabrous. Bracteoles absent. Calyx 5-7 mm long, not accrescent, glabrous, ribless; pustules or glands absent. Corolla 10-16 mm long, multicoloured, mostly yellow, red or orange, with some yellow, red or orange spots, streaks or blotches; claws absent; standard 10.5-12 mm long, glabrous, not auriculate, wings 8-9.6 mm long, not auriculate, keel 5-6.3 mm long, not beaked, not auriculate, glabrous. Stamens at two different levels (filaments alternately long and short), 3.5-6 mm long. Ovary stipitate, hairy or glandular; style 6-6.5 mm long, hairy or glandular towards the base, not bearded, terete. Fruit 8-9 mm long, 6-7 mm wide, stipitate, not constricted between the seeds, flat or compressed, hairy, with simple hairs, not beaked. Flowers in June, July, August, September, October, November and December. Occurs in the South-West Botanical Province, in the Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Warren and Swan Coastal Plain IBRA regions.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 24 October 2023


IBRA Regions
Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Swan Coastal Plain, Warren.
IBRA Subregions
Dandaragan Plateau, Lesueur Sandplain, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Southern Jarrah Forest, Warren.
IMCRA Regions
Central West Coast.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Albany, Armadale, Augusta Margaret River, Bayswater, Belmont, Beverley, Boddington, Busselton, Canning, Capel, Chittering, Cockburn, Collie, Dandaragan, Denmark, Gingin, Gosnells, Harvey, Kalamunda, Kwinana, Mandurah, Manjimup, Melville, Mundaring, Murray, Nannup, Perth, Plantagenet, Serpentine-Jarrahdale, Swan, Wandering, Wanneroo, Waroona, West Arthur, York.