Skip to main content

Sesbania formosa (F.Muell.) N.T.Burb.
White Dragon Tree

Austral.J.Bot. 13:115 (1965)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Tree, 2.5-13 m high. Fl. white/cream, May to Sep. Alluvium, sand. Along creeks & rivers, margins of swamps.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 1 August 1996

Scientific Description

Erect, tree. Stems terete, not spiny, glabrous; pustules or glands absent. Leaves or phylloclades clearly present, compound, alternate, not continuous with stem, 240-250 mm long, hairy, with gland-tipped hairs, flat with flat margins; margins entire; tubercles absent, leaflets 30-32, terminal leaflet present, stalked; pustules or glands absent. Stipules present but early deciduous ( only visible on youngest leaves ), 1-3 mm long, without glands, ribless. Pedicel present, 1.5-3 mm long, glabrous. Bracteoles present but early deciduous. Calyx 20-22 mm long, not accrescent, glabrous, ribless; pustules or glands absent. Corolla 75-80 mm long, uniformly coloured, white; claws present; standard 70-75 mm long, glabrous, not auriculate, wings 70-85 mm long, not auriculate, keel 70-80 mm long, not beaked, not auriculate, glabrous. Stamens ten, at two different levels (filaments alternately long and short); filaments united in an open sheath with one free stamen, 70-80 mm long. Ovary stipitate, glabrous; style 86-90 mm long, glabrous, not bearded, terete. Fruit dehiscent (a pod or follicle), stipitate, not constricted between the seeds, flat or compressed, glabrous, beaked. Flowers in May, June, July, August and September. Occurs in the Northern and Eremaean Botanical Province, in the Great Sandy Desert, Pilbara, Carnarvon, Gascoyne, Northern Kimberley, Victoria Bonaparte, Central Kimberley, Ord-Victorian-Plain and Dampierland IBRA regions.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 24 October 2023


IBRA Regions
Carnarvon, Central Kimberley, Dampierland, Darwin Coastal, Gascoyne, Great Sandy Desert, Indian Tropical Islands, Northern Kimberley, Ord Victoria Plain, Pilbara, Victoria Bonaparte.
IBRA Subregions
Ashburton, Berkeley, Cape Range, Chichester, Fitzroy Trough, Fortescue, Hamersley, Hart, Keep, McLarty, Mitchell, Pentecost, Pindanland, Purnululu, Roebourne.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Ashburton, Broome, Christmas Island, Derby-West Kimberley, East Pilbara, Halls Creek, Karratha, Meekatharra, Port Hedland, Upper Gascoyne, Wyndham-East Kimberley.