Skip to main content

Swainsona maccullochiana F.Muell.
Ashburton Pea

Fragm. 7:25-26 (1869)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Erect, single-stemmed annual, herb, (0.2-)0.5-3 m high. Fl. purple-red/purple-blue-pink, Jul to Oct. Loamy & gravelly soils. Low-lying moist areas, near watercourses.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 5 August 1996

Scientific Description

Erect, herb. Stems terete, not spiny, hairy; pustules or glands absent. Leaves or phylloclades clearly present, compound, alternate, not continuous with stem, 95-320 mm long, hairy, with simple hairs, flat with flat margins; margins entire; tubercles absent, leaflets 15-23, pinnately arranged, terminal leaflet present, stalked; pustules or glands absent. Stipules present and persistent to older leaves, 10-11.5 mm long, without glands, ribless. Pedicel present, 4-6 mm long, hairy. Bracteoles present and persistent, 2-2.5 mm long, hairy, not striate. Calyx 9-14.5 mm long, not accrescent, hairy, with simple hairs, ribless; pustules or glands absent. Corolla 25-32 mm long, multicoloured, mostly pink, red, purple or blue, with some pink, red, purple or blue spots, streaks or blotches; claws present; standard 24-30 mm long, glabrous, not auriculate, wings 16-28 mm long, auriculate, keel 25-32 mm long, not beaked, auriculate, glabrous. Stamens ten; anthers 1.2-1.9 mm long, at two different levels (filaments alternately long and short); filaments united in an open sheath with one free stamen, 16-26 mm long. Ovary stipitate, hairy or glandular; style 20-34.5 mm long, hairy or glandular towards the base, bearded (with a tuft of hairs at apex), terete. Fruit dehiscent (a pod or follicle), 30-35 mm long, 9-12 mm wide, stipitate, not constricted between the seeds, round in cross-section, hairy, with simple hairs. Flowers in July, August, September and October. Occurs in the Eremaean Botanical Province, in the Pilbara and Gascoyne IBRA regions.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 24 October 2023


IBRA Regions
Carnarvon, Gascoyne, Pilbara.
IBRA Subregions
Ashburton, Augustus, Chichester, Fortescue, Hamersley, Roebourne, Wooramel.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Ashburton, Carnarvon, East Pilbara, Karratha, Meekatharra, Upper Gascoyne.