Skip to main content

Lawrencia helmsii (F.Muell. & Tate) Lander
Dunna Dunna

Nuytsia 5:252 (1985)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Erect, cactus-like shrub, (0.1-)0.3-1.5 m high. Fl. yellow-green, Jul to Dec. Sandy soils, clay. Gypsum & limestone ridges, near salt lakes.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 23 September 1996

Scientific Description

Shrub, with hairy stems. Leaves 2-7 mm long, 1-3 mm wide, not lobed; margins entire; hairywith scales scales, Sessile glands absent; stipules present and persistent to older leaves, 1-3 mm long. Perianth clearly of two whorls (calyx and corolla), the corolla obvious and prominent. Pedicel absent (flower sessile). Epicalyx (extra segments or 'bracteoles' immediately below the calyx) absent. Calyx 1.5-5 mm long, the lobes fused half or more of their length, Sessile glands absent, simple hairs (without tubercle bases) absent, stellate hairs absent, tubercle-based simple hairs absent, gland-tipped hairs absent, scales scales present, Terminal appendages absent, number of ribs absent. Corolla yellow or green, 1-5 mm long, glabrous. Indumentum (outside) Sessile glands absent. Stamens many, united and arising from a staminal tube around the style; filaments present, 0.5-1 mm long; anthers 0.5-1 mm long, indumentum absent (anthers glabrous). Staminodes absent, appendages absent. Ovary hairs and scales absent (ovary quite glabrous); style 1, 0.5-3 mm long, with one or numerous style branches or lobes, mostly glabrous, wing absent. Flowering time July, August, September, October, November or December. Distribution Botanical Province Eremaean, IBRA Bioregion Pilbara, Gascoyne, Little Sandy Desert, Yalgoo, Murchison and Coolgardie.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 11 August 2023


IBRA Regions
Coolgardie, Gascoyne, Little Sandy Desert, Murchison, Pilbara, Yalgoo.
IBRA Subregions
Carnegie, Eastern Goldfield, Eastern Murchison, Fortescue, Tallering, Trainor, Western Murchison.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Ashburton, Coolgardie, Cue, East Pilbara, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Laverton, Leonora, Meekatharra, Menzies, Sandstone, Wiluna, Yalgoo.