Skip to main content

Lawrencia viridigrisea Lander

Nuytsia 5:233-236 (1985)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Ascending shrub, 0.2-1 m high. Fl. yellow/white, Jul to Dec. Sandy soils, limestone, clay. Coastal inlets, margins of salt lakes, saline depressions.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 24 September 1996

Scientific Description

Shrub, with hairy stems. Leaves 10-30 mm long, 2-8 mm wide, not lobed; margins entire or serrate; hairywith scales scales, Sessile glands absent; stipules present and persistent to older leaves. Perianth clearly of two whorls (calyx and corolla), the corolla obvious and prominent. Pedicel absent (flower sessile). Epicalyx (extra segments or 'bracteoles' immediately below the calyx) absent, indumentum present, simple hairs (without tubercle bases) absent, stellate hairs present, gland-tipped hairs absentwith scales absent. Calyx 4.5-5 mm long, the lobes fused less than half their length, Sessile glands absent, simple hairs (without tubercle bases) absent, stellate hairs absent, tubercle-based simple hairs absent, gland-tipped hairs absent, scales scales present, Terminal appendages absent, number of ribs absent. Corolla yellow or white, 5-6 mm long, glabrous. Indumentum (outside) Sessile glands absent. Stamens many, united and arising from a staminal tube around the style; filaments present, 0.7-0.8 mm long; anthers 0.7-0.8 mm long, indumentum absent (anthers glabrous). Staminodes absent, appendages absent. Ovary hairs and scales absent (ovary quite glabrous); style 1, 2.2-2.5 mm long, with one or numerous style branches or lobes, mostly glabrous, wing absent. Flowering time July, August, September, October, November or December. Distribution Botanical Province Northern, Eremaean or South-West, IBRA Bioregion Great Sandy Desert, Pilbara, Carnarvon, Yalgoo, Dampierland and Geraldton Sandplains.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 11 August 2023


IBRA Regions
Carnarvon, Central Ranges, Dampierland, Geraldton Sandplains, Great Sandy Desert, Pilbara, Yalgoo.
IBRA Subregions
Cape Range, Edel, Geraldton Hills, Lesueur Sandplain, Mackay, Mann-Musgrave Block, McLarty, Pindanland, Roebourne, Wooramel.
IMCRA Regions
Ningaloo, Pilbara (offshore), Shark Bay.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Ashburton, Broome, Carnamah, Carnarvon, East Pilbara, Exmouth, Irwin, Karratha, Ngaanyatjarraku, Northampton, Port Hedland, Shark Bay.