Skip to main content

Cyanothamnus ramosus subsp. anethifolius (Bartl.) Duretto & Heslewood

Taxon 69:494 (2020)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Scientific Description

Shrub, spines absent; branchlets smooth, without distinct raised glands, +/- cylindrical in cross-section, covered in hairs or scales, the hairs stellate (star-shaped). Leaves opposite, compound, 10-25 mm long, with 3-5 leaflets, each 5-18 mm long, 0.4-0.5 mm wide, flat, the margins revolute, smooth, without distinct raised glands, glabrous; stipular excrescences absent. Flowers axillary, solitary; pedicels 2-4 mm long; calyx present, 2-3 mm long, smooth, without distinct raised glands, glabrous; corolla blue, petals four, 3-7 mm long, valvate (not overlapping), free, glabrous; stamens twice as many as petals, smooth, hairy, with an appendage. Flowers in May, June, July, August, September and October. Occurs in the South-West Botanical Province, in the Avon Wheatbelt, Jarrah Forest, Mallee, Esperance, Swan Coastal Plain and Geraldton IBRA region(s).

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 14 November 2023


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Esperance Plains, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Mallee, Swan Coastal Plain.
IBRA Subregions
Dandaragan Plateau, Eastern Mallee, Fitzgerald, Geraldton Hills, Katanning, Lesueur Sandplain, Merredin, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Recherche, Southern Jarrah Forest, Western Mallee.
IMCRA Regions
Central West Coast, WA South Coast, Zuytdorp.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Armadale, Beverley, Boddington, Boyup Brook, Bridgetown-Greenbushes, Brookton, Busselton, Canning, Carnamah, Chapman Valley, Chittering, Cockburn, Collie, Coorow, Cranbrook, Cunderdin, Dandaragan, Dumbleyung, Esperance, Gingin, Gnowangerup, Gosnells, Greater Geraldton, Irwin, Jerramungup, Kalamunda, Katanning, Kent, Kojonup, Kulin, Kwinana, Lake Grace, Mandurah, Moora, Mundaring, Murray, Narrogin, Northam, Northampton, Perth, Pingelly, Plantagenet, Ravensthorpe, Swan, Tammin, Three Springs, Toodyay, Victoria Plains, Wandering, Wanneroo, West Arthur, Wickepin, Williams, Wongan-Ballidu, Woodanilling, York.