Skip to main content

Lysiosepalum rugosum Benth.
Wrinkled Leaf Lysiosepalum

Fl.Austral. 1:267 (1863)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Shrub, (0.1-)0.3-1(-1.5) m high. Fl. blue-purple-pink, Jul to Nov. Gravel, sandy soils, laterite, clay.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 1 October 1996

Scientific Description

Shrub, with hairy stems. Leaves 15-50 mm long, 2-7 mm wide, not lobed; margins sinuate; hairy, with stellate hairswith scales absent, Sessile glands absent; stipules present and persistent to older leaves, 4-8 mm long. Perianth of two whorls but the corolla reduced to small scales or tiny lobes at the base of the ovary. Pedicel present, 6.5-7 mm long; indumentum present, with stellate hairs present, with scales absent. Epicalyx (extra segments or 'bracteoles' immediately below the calyx) present, 4.5-7.5 mm long, the lobes free, indumentum present, stellate hairs presentwith scales absent, Sessile glands absent. Calyx pink, blue or purple, 5.5-10 mm long, the lobes fused less than half their length, Sessile glands absent, simple hairs (without tubercle bases) absent, stellate hairs present, tubercle-based simple hairs absent, gland-tipped hairs absent, scales absent, Terminal appendages absent, number of ribs absent. Corolla 0.8-1.2 mm long, glabrous. Indumentum (outside) Sessile glands absent. Stamens six, free and inserted at the base of the ovary; filaments present, 0.5-1 mm long; anthers 3-3.6 mm long, indumentum absent (anthers glabrous). Staminodes absent, appendages absent. Ovary hairs or scales present, simple hairs absent, stellate hairs present, gland-tipped hairs absent; style 1, with a lobed or capitate stigma, 2.8-3.2 mm long, with one style branches or lobes, mostly glabrous, wing absent. Flowering time July, August, September, October or November. Distribution Botanical Province Eremaean or South-West, IBRA Bioregion Coolgardie, Avon Wheatbelt and Jarrah Forest.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 11 August 2023


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Coolgardie, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest.
IBRA Subregions
Geraldton Hills, Katanning, Merredin, Northern Jarrah Forest, Southern Cross.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Bruce Rock, Chapman Valley, Cunderdin, Dalwallinu, Dowerin, Greater Geraldton, Kellerberrin, Koorda, Merredin, Mingenew, Morawa, Mount Marshall, Nungarin, Tammin, Three Springs, Trayning, Westonia, Wongan-Ballidu, Wyalkatchem, Yalgoo, Yilgarn, York.