Skip to main content

Brunonia australis R.Br.
Native Cornflower

Prodr. 590 (1810)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Tufted perennial, herb or shrub, 0.05-0.4 m high. Fl. blue, May to Oct. Red sand. Sand dunes, stony hills, sandplains.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 5 March 1996

Scientific Description

Stems unribbed. Leaves flat, 20-55 mm long, 2-5 mm wide, Indumentum present, with dense, simple hairs; margins entire. Bracteoles present, 3.5-6 mm long, hairy, with simple hairs. Pedicel absent (flowers sessile). Calyx lobes present, Calyx length 6.5-9 mm long, hairy, with dense, simple hairs. Corolla blue, 6-7 mm long, without auricles, not spurred, hairy on the outside, with dense, simple hairs, glabrous on the inside, without wings, wingless. Anthers free. Ovary superior, not gibbose; style 5-7.5 mm long, hairy; indusium single, hairy; ovules one or two. Flowers in May, June, July, August, September and October. Occurs in the Pilbara (PIL), Yalgoo (YAL), Murchison (MUR), Great Victoria Desert (GVD), Coolgardie (COO), Carnarvon (CAR), Central Ranges (CR), Gascoyne (GAS), Gibson Desert (GD), Great Sandy Desert (GSD), Little Sandy Desert(LSD), Geraldton Sandplains (GS), Swan Coastal Plain (SWA), Mallee (MAL) and Esperance Plains (ESP) IBRA Region(s), of the Eremaean (E) and South West (SW) Botanical Province.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 2 August 2023


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Carnarvon, Central Ranges, Coolgardie, Dampierland, Gascoyne, Geraldton Sandplains, Gibson Desert, Great Sandy Desert, Great Victoria Desert, Little Sandy Desert, Mallee, Murchison, Nullarbor, Pilbara, Swan Coastal Plain, Tanami, Yalgoo.
IBRA Subregions
Augustus, Carlisle, Carnegie, Central, Chichester, Eastern Goldfield, Eastern Murchison, Fortescue, Geraldton Hills, Hamersley, Katanning, Lateritic Plain, Lesueur Sandplain, Mackay, Mann-Musgrave Block, McLarty, Merredin, Perth, Pindanland, Rudall, Shield, Southern Cross, Tallering, Tanami Desert, Trainor, Western Mallee, Western Murchison, Wooramel.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Ashburton, Broome, Chapman Valley, Coolgardie, Coorow, Corrigin, Cue, Dalwallinu, Derby-West Kimberley, Dowerin, Dundas, East Pilbara, Goomalling, Greater Geraldton, Halls Creek, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Kellerberrin, Kondinin, Kulin, Laverton, Leonora, Meekatharra, Menzies, Merredin, Moora, Morawa, Mount Magnet, Mount Marshall, Mukinbudin, Murchison, Murray, Narembeen, Ngaanyatjarraku, Northampton, Nungarin, Perenjori, Quairading, Sandstone, Tammin, Upper Gascoyne, Wiluna, Wongan-Ballidu, Wyalkatchem, Yalgoo, Yilgarn, York.