Skip to main content

Dampiera alata Lindl.
Winged-stem Dampiera

Sketch Veg.Swan R. 27 (1839)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Erect, woody perennial, herb, 0.1-0.6 m high. Fl. blue, Jul to Dec. Sandy or clay, often gravelly soils, laterite. Plains, swamps, hillslopes.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 5 March 1996

Scientific Description

Stems ribbed. Leaves flat, 20-45 mm long, 3-15 mm wide, Indumentum absent (leaves glabrous); margins entire or toothed. Bracteoles present, 3-4 mm long, glabrous. Pedicel pedicellate, Pedicel length the pedicels 3-10 mm long, glabrous. Calyx lobes hairy, simple hairs. Corolla blue, 12-16 mm long, auriculate, not spurred, hairy on the outside, with dense, simple hairs, glabrous on the inside; central lobes 4-8 mm long, with wings; outer lobes 6.5-10 mm long, wing present on both sides and clearly unequal, 0.7-1.5 mm wide on the narrower side, 1.5-2.5 mm wide on the broader side. Anthers free. Ovary inferior, not gibbose; style 6-8 mm long, glabrous; indusium single, glabrous; ovules one or two. Flowers in July, August, September, October, November and December. Occurs in the Geraldton Sandplains (GS), Swan Coastal Plain (SWA), Avon Wheatbelt (AW), Jarrah Forest (JF), Mallee (MAL) and Esperance Plains (ESP) IBRA Region(s), of the South West (SW) Botanical Province.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 2 August 2023


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Esperance Plains, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Mallee, Swan Coastal Plain, Warren.
IBRA Subregions
Dandaragan Plateau, Fitzgerald, Katanning, Lesueur Sandplain, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Southern Jarrah Forest, Warren, Western Mallee.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Albany, Armadale, Augusta Margaret River, Bayswater, Beverley, Boddington, Boyup Brook, Bridgetown-Greenbushes, Brookton, Chittering, Collie, Coorow, Cranbrook, Dandaragan, Denmark, Donnybrook-Balingup, Gnowangerup, Gosnells, Harvey, Jerramungup, Kalamunda, Kojonup, Manjimup, Moora, Mundaring, Murray, Nannup, Narrogin, Northam, Plantagenet, Serpentine-Jarrahdale, Swan, Three Springs, Toodyay, Victoria Plains, Wandering, Waroona, West Arthur, Williams, York.