Skip to main content

Dampiera spicigera Benth.
Spiked Dampiera

Fl.Austral. 4:109 (1868)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Erect shrub, 0.1-0.8 m high. Fl. blue/purple, Jul to Dec. White/grey, yellow or red sand, sometimes with gravel. Sandplains, low laterite breakaways, rocky hills.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 7 March 1996

Scientific Description

Stems unribbed. Leaves flat, 10-40 mm long, 2-10 mm wide, Indumentum present, with dense or sparse, dendritic hairs; margins entire. Bracteoles present or absent, 2.5-4 mm long, hairy, with simple hairs. Pedicel pedicellate, Pedicel length the pedicels 2-3 mm long, Indumentum present, Hair type with dendritic hairs. Calyx lobes present, Calyx length 1-1.5 mm long, hairy, with dense, dendritic hairs. Corolla blue, 10-20 mm long, auriculate, not spurred, hairy on the outside, with dense, dendritic hairs, glabrous on the inside; central lobes 5-10 mm long, with wings; outer lobes 7.5-11 mm long, wing present on both sides and clearly unequal, 1.8-2.5 mm wide on the broader side. Anthers connate. Ovary inferior, not gibbose; style 3-4.5 mm long, glabrous; indusium single, hairy; ovules one or two. Flowers in July, August, September, October, November and December. Occurs in the Coolgardie (COO), Carnarvon (CAR), Geraldton Sandplains (GS), Swan Coastal Plain (SWA), Avon Wheatbelt (AW) and Jarrah Forest (JF) IBRA Region(s), of the Eremaean (E) and South West (SW) Botanical Province.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 2 August 2023


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Carnarvon, Coolgardie, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Swan Coastal Plain, Yalgoo.
IBRA Subregions
Dandaragan Plateau, Edel, Geraldton Hills, Katanning, Lesueur Sandplain, Merredin, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Southern Cross, Wooramel.
IMCRA Regions
Central West Coast.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Carnamah, Carnarvon, Chapman Valley, Coorow, Cunderdin, Dandaragan, Dowerin, Gingin, Greater Geraldton, Irwin, Mingenew, Moora, Morawa, Northampton, Quairading, Shark Bay, Tammin, Three Springs, Victoria Plains, Wongan-Ballidu, Yilgarn.