Skip to main content

Scaevola crassifolia Labill.
Thick-leaved Fan-flower

Nov.Holl.Pl. 1:56 (1805)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Erect or decumbent, viscid shrub, 0.1-1.5 m high. Fl. blue/white, Jul to Dec or Jan to Feb. Sand. Coastal dunes, plains & limestone cliffs.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 20 March 1996

Scientific Description

Stems ribbed. Leaves flat, 25-75 mm long, 5-30 mm wide, Indumentum absent (leaves glabrous); margins entire or toothed. Bracteoles present, 5-7 mm long, glabrous. Pedicel absent (flowers sessile). Calyx lobes present, Calyx length 3-3.5 mm long, glabrous. Corolla blue or mauve, 10-12 mm long, without auricles, not spurred, glabrous on the outside, hairy on the inside; central lobes 4-9 mm long, with wings; outer lobes 4-10 mm long, wings present on both sides, 0.5-0.6 mm wide. Anthers free. Ovary inferior, not gibbose; style 7-9 mm long, hairy; indusium single, hairy; ovules one or two. Flowers in January, February, July, August, September, October, November and December. Occurs in the Pilbara (PIL), Carnarvon (CAR), Hampton (HAM), Dampier land (DL), Geraldton Sandplains (GS), Swan Coastal Plain (SWA), Jarrah Forest (JF), Warren (WAR) and Esperance Plains (ESP) IBRA Region(s), of the Northern (N), Eremaean (E) and South West (SW) Botanical Province.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 2 August 2023


IBRA Regions
Carnarvon, Dampierland, Esperance Plains, Geraldton Sandplains, Hampton, Jarrah Forest, Pilbara, Swan Coastal Plain, Warren, Yalgoo.
IBRA Subregions
Cape Range, Chichester, Edel, Fitzgerald, Geraldton Hills, Hampton, Lesueur Sandplain, Perth, Pindanland, Recherche, Roebourne, Southern Jarrah Forest, Warren, Wooramel.
IMCRA Regions
Abrolhos Islands, Central West Coast, Leeuwin-Naturaliste, Ningaloo, Pilbara (nearshore), Pilbara (offshore), Shark Bay, WA South Coast, Zuytdorp.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Albany, Ashburton, Augusta Margaret River, Broome, Busselton, Capel, Carnarvon, Chapman Valley, Cockburn, Coorow, Cottesloe, Dandaragan, Donnybrook-Balingup, Dundas, Esperance, Exmouth, Fremantle, Gingin, Greater Geraldton, Irwin, Jerramungup, Joondalup, Karratha, Manjimup, Nannup, Northampton, Port Hedland, Ravensthorpe, Rockingham, Shark Bay, Wanneroo.