Skip to main content

Daviesia aphylla Benth.

Fl.Austral. 2:88 (1864)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Scientific Description

Erect, shrub, spindly shrub (broom-like). Stems terete, not spiny, glabrous; pustules or glands absent. Leaves or phylloclades absent or apparently so (reduced to scales), alternate, glabrous, flat with flat margins; tubercles absent; pustules or glands absent. Stipules apparently absent even from the youngest leaves. Pedicel present, 1-1.2 mm long, glabrous. Bracteoles absent. Calyx 2.3-3 mm long, not accrescent, glabrous, ribless; pustules or glands absent. Corolla 4.8-7 mm long, multicoloured, mostly yellow, red, orange or brown, with some yellow, red, orange or brown spots, streaks or blotches; claws present; standard 4-5 mm long, glabrous, not auriculate, wings 4-6 mm long, not auriculate, keel 4-6 mm long, not beaked, not auriculate, glabrous. Stamens ten; anthers 0.3-0.4 mm long, at two different levels (filaments alternately long and short); filaments free (or united at the very base), 3.2-5 mm long. Ovary sessile or subsessile, glabrous; style 3.5-4.8 mm long, glabrous, not bearded, terete. Fruit dehiscent (a pod or follicle), 6-9 mm long, 7-10 mm wide, sessile or subsessile, not constricted between the seeds, flat or compressed, glabrous, beaked. Flowers in August, September and October. Occurs in the Eremaean and South-West Botanical Province, in the Murchison, Great Victorian Desert, Coolgardie, Nullarbor, Geraldton Sandplains, Avon Wheatbelt, Mallee and Esperance IBRA regions.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 24 October 2023


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Coolgardie, Esperance Plains, Great Victoria Desert, Mallee, Murchison, Nullarbor.
IBRA Subregions
Carlisle, Central, Eastern Goldfield, Eastern Mallee, Eastern Murchison, Fitzgerald, Katanning, Maralinga, Mardabilla, Merredin, Nullarbor Plain, Recherche, Shield, Southern Cross, Western Mallee.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Beverley, Coolgardie, Dalwallinu, Dumbleyung, Dundas, Esperance, Gnowangerup, Jerramungup, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Kellerberrin, Kent, Kondinin, Kulin, Lake Grace, Laverton, Menzies, Merredin, Mount Marshall, Narembeen, Nungarin, Plantagenet, Ravensthorpe, Wongan-Ballidu, Yilgarn.