Skip to main content

Urodon dasyphyllus Turcz.
Mop Bushpea

Bull.Soc.Imp.Naturalistes Moscou 26(1):268 (1853)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Shrub, 0.1-0.6(-1) m high. Fl. yellow-orange-red, Jul to Dec or Jan. Sandy, often gravelly soils. Undulating plains.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 8 August 1996

Scientific Description

Erect or prostrate,spreading or scrambling, shrub, spindly shrub (broom-like). Stems terete, not spiny, hairy; pustules or glands absent. Leaves or phylloclades clearly present, simple, alternate, not continuous with stem, 8-11 mm long, 1.5-2.5 mm wide, hairy, with simple hairs, flat with flat margins; margins entire; tubercles absent; pustules or glands absent. Stipules apparently absent even from the youngest leaves. Pedicel present, 3-6 mm long, hairy. Bracteoles present and persistent, 8-10 mm long, hairy, not striate. Calyx 11.5-13 mm long, not accrescent, hairy, with simple hairs, ribless; pustules or glands absent. Corolla 14-16 mm long, multicoloured, mostly yellow, red or orange, with some yellow, red or orange spots, streaks or blotches; claws absent; standard 11-16 mm long, glabrous, not auriculate, wings 11-12 mm long, not auriculate, keel 12-13 mm long, not beaked, not auriculate, glabrous. Stamens ten; anthers 0.8-1 mm long, at two different levels (filaments alternately long and short), 6-7.5 mm long. Ovary stipitate, hairy or glandular; style 10-11 mm long, hairy or glandular towards the base, not bearded, terete. Fruit dehiscent (a pod or follicle), sessile or subsessile, not constricted between the seeds, round in cross-section, not beaked. Flowers in July, August, September, October and December. Occurs in the Eremaean and South-West Botanical Province, in the Yalgoo, Murchison, Coolgardie, Geraldton Sandplains, Avon Wheatbelt and Jarrah Forest IBRA regions.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 24 October 2023


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Coolgardie, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Mallee, Yalgoo.
IBRA Subregions
Edel, Geraldton Hills, Katanning, Merredin, Northern Jarrah Forest, Southern Cross, Western Mallee.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Beverley, Brookton, Bruce Rock, Chapman Valley, Coolgardie, Corrigin, Cuballing, Cunderdin, Dumbleyung, Dundas, Esperance, Kellerberrin, Kent, Kondinin, Kulin, Lake Grace, Merredin, Narembeen, Narrogin, Northampton, Pingelly, Quairading, Ravensthorpe, Shark Bay, Tammin, Wagin, Wickepin, Woodanilling, Wyalkatchem, Yilgarn, York.